Nov 20, 2012
Last year, Mark Zuckerberg and his team announced a security feature for Facebook users via secured HTTP or HTTPS. While this security feature provides an additional layer of security for all Facebook users during login, most people just take it lightly and don’t bother to use it all. Maybe this is the reason why there are so many Facebook accounts that were hacked by sniffing WiFi connections using Faceniff or Firesheep. This could have been avoided by simply enabling HTTPS as suggested by many security experts around the world.
Back then HTTPS was only optional for a Facebook user that is accessible under Account Security. But this time Facebook will no longer make it an option but a mandatory requirement for all users to comply. This mandatory requirement during Facebook login is now being implemented as we speak all over the world. But the first region of the world to receive such treatment is North American users. They should now see the closed lock icon or similar symbol besides the Facebook URL indicating that they’re already connected securely via HTTPS.
Secured HTTP has been around for so many years. You can see this security feature implemented when logging in to different payment gateways like PayPal and online banks when transferring money.
If you want to use HTTPS to safely browse Facebook and make updates on your profile, you can do so by enabling this feature. Just click the down arrow icon on the right of your username and select Account Settings from the list of options. Then select Security > Secure Browsing to enable HTTPS. If you’re already logged on, you maybe ask to logout first. You will then see the Facebook URL to change from HTTP to HTTPS indicating that you have successfully enabled secured browsing via HTTPS.
Incoming search terms:
android lock symbol in url facebook, facebook lock icon on url, facebook lock on url, Facrbook had a lock icon on url, lock in url facebook, locked symbol next to facebook url, what does the lock symbol on facebook url